Marie Antoinette’s Last Letter

5502This is the letter Marie-Antoinette Queen of France wrote to her sister-in-law Madame Elisabeth a few hours before her execution. (Letter translated from French to English by Charles Duke Yonge)

16th October, 4:30am

It is to you, my sister, that I write for the last time. I have just been condemned, not to a shameful death, for such is only for criminals, but to go and rejoin your brother. Innocent like him, I hope to show the same firmness in my last moments. I am calm, as one is when one’s conscience reproaches one with nothing. I feel profound sorrow in leaving my poor children: you know that I only lived for them and for you, my good and tender sister. You who out of love have sacrificed everything to be with us, in what a position do I leave you! I have learned from the proceedings at my trial that my…

Source: Marie Antoinette’s Last Letter

3 thoughts on “Marie Antoinette’s Last Letter

  1. I visited her chambers in the La Conciergerie in Paris, and saw the little table used to compose this letter. She was held separate from other condemned prisoners and brought to this small room where she could write her farewell letter and have her hair cut prior to facing the guillotine. Human hair had a way of making the blade dull. She is sentenced at 4:30 a.m. with scheduled execution at noon. The blade fell at 12:15 pm.

    Liked by 1 person

What are your thoughts?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.