100 Years On: An Oasis in a World Gone Crazy

London Historians' Blog

pessimists100 years ago on the Western Front, the now-legendary army padre Philip “Tubby” Clayton and his colleague padre Neville Talbot recognised the urgent need for a soldiers’ club where the troops could hang out and relax with their comrades when behind the lines. A two storey house in Poperinge (“Pop”) was procured and named after Talbot’s brother, Gilbert, who was killed at Ypres on 30 July, aged 23. Talbot House was born.

The top floor became a chapel, using a carpenter’s bench for an altar. Tubby estimated over 100,000 attended there during the war, whether for public service or private prayer. The ground floor was a lounge, library and tea room. Alcohol was not served. Talbot House was for all ranks, indeed all were considered equal, hence it was known as Every-Man’s Club. It was an immediate success and continued until the immediate area became too dangerous towards the end of the conflict…

View original post 188 more words

Great Plague Of London Explored In New Exhibition | Londonist

Originally posted on the Londonist.

The Square Mile’s Guildhall Library has mounted a small but informative exhibition about the Great Plague. The visitation of 1665 killed an estimated 100,000 Londoners — around a quarter of the population.

The display presents original documents and publications from the time, all drawn from the library’s unrivalled holdings. Visitors can inspect…

via Great Plague Of London Explored In New Exhibition | Londonist.