Taking a Cruise in the Late 1950s

I can’t resist posting this little travel film from 1959 partly because it’s a world away from today and partly because my parents, Benedicta Leigh and Richard Vernon, are playing the mother and father. As someone notes disparagingly on YouTube, it features only first class travel! Typical of the time. The daughter is played by Suzan Farmer although I don’t know the name of the actor playing the son.  My brother and I were too young, alas, to play the children but I still have the mug our parents bought in Portugal!

Reel 1

Reel 2

Sarah Vernon © March 2017

4 thoughts on “Taking a Cruise in the Late 1950s

  1. It must be wonderful to have this memory of your parents on film, alongside the many other recorded performances. I can only imagine the cost of such a trip, in 1959. I was seven years old, and we usually holidayed in Cornwall, staying with an elderly relative who lived there. I suspect that the cruise shown would have cost the joint annual income of my own parents, and more.
    A delightful snapshot of a bygone age. (And those floral shirts!)
    Best wishes, Pete.

    Liked by 2 people

    • I’m happy to say that my father wouldn’t have been seen dead in one of those floral shirts! It is wonderful to have this and it’s only because my late ex-husband’s widow came across it the other day when doing some research for her OU course.

      Liked by 1 person

What are your thoughts?

