Great Uncle Norman: ‘shot by a single sniper’ | First Night History

I’ve decided to make this a regular re-post for November 11th, particularly pertinent this year in light of the fact that everything this and succeeding generations fought and died for is going for a Burton. As I said to Christoph Fischer earlier, I wish I could go back in time and tell my parents, grandparents and other forebears not to fight, not to sacrifice their lives because, come the 21st century, it will have made not a jot of difference.

‘Five foot ten of a beautiful young Englishman under French soil. Never a joke, never a look, never a word more to add to my store of memories. The book is shut up forever and as the years pass I s…

Source: Great Uncle Norman: ‘shot by a single sniper’ | First Night History

One thought on “Great Uncle Norman: ‘shot by a single sniper’ | First Night History

What are your thoughts?

