Birth of Erich Maria Remarque – If It Happened Yesterday, It’s History

June 22nd 1898
Birth of Erich Maria Remarque

On June 22nd, 1898, Erich Maria Remarque was born in the city of Osnabruck, in the federal state of Lower- Saxony, in Germany. He is the famed author of the classic novel, All Quiet on the Western Front (1928).

He was drafted into the German army at the age of eighteen, where he witnessed first hand the horrors of the Great War. He, himself, was wounded during the war by several pieces of shrapnel. His injuries would…

Source: What happened this month in history? – If It Happened Yesterday, It’s History

10 thoughts on “Birth of Erich Maria Remarque – If It Happened Yesterday, It’s History

  1. Add this to the list of classics I never got to but will soon remedy. I just ordered it with a delivery date of Thursday, perhaps? It will be added to the endless pile of TBR’s but as is oft the case, some books just will not wait and manage to jump the queue.
    However, it is also time to sort out my own book taking this rough first draft and see if it can be turned into something comprehensible… No doubt, it will be a demanding exercise.

    Liked by 1 person

      • Believe me, I do understand! With all the books around here I still manage to squeeze in just one more… I’m surprised my cat hasn’t demanded seperate quarters! Thanks for stopping to respond.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. This is a great post. Thank you! I have been meaning to tell you how much I like your secondary title, “How can we improve our future if we don’t understand out past?” I could say volumes about this, but suffice it to say that I seize every small moment to do just that. Many thanks! -Jennie-

    Liked by 1 person

What are your thoughts?

