Vida Goldstein | Historical Ragbag

I recently saw the movie Suffragette and while I did enjoy it and applaud the important story it is telling I couldn’t help but think that I wanted to write about some of the non-violent members of the women’s suffrage movement. This idea crystallised when I talked to a few people and realised that even the leaders in Australia’s women’s suffrage movement remain largely unknown. As I began to look I found that Suffragettes had prompted many others to write about the people involved with the women’s suffrage movement, which is one of the best outcomes the movie could possibly have had.

An example is the Guardian article below about the fascinating Adela Pankhurst. She was one of the daughters of the celebrated Emmeline Pankhurst, who is played my Meryl Streep in the movie.

http://www.theguardian.com/australia-news/2015/dec/24/wayward-suffragette-adela-pankhurst-and-her-remarkable-australian-life

I decided that I wanted to write about someone I knew a little about already and as I’d done some work on Vida Goldstein at high school, and too many people still haven’t heard of her, I thought she’d be a good place to start. I was intending to write…

Source: Vida Goldstein | Historical Ragbag

3 thoughts on “Vida Goldstein | Historical Ragbag

  1. Pingback: Vida Goldstein | Historical Ragbag — First Night History | Cogpunk Steamscribe

What are your thoughts?

