A Love Letter to Lady Hamilton from Lord Nelson | STORJA101

To Lady Hamilton

My Dearest Emma,

All your letters, my dear letters, are so entertaining, and which point so clearly what you are after that they give me either the greatest pleasure or pain. It is the  next best thing to begin with you.

I only desire, my dearest Emma, that you will always believe that Nelson’s your own; nelson’s Alpha and Omega is Emma! I cannot alter – my affection and love is beyond even this world! Nothing will shake it but yourself; and that I will not allow myself to think for a moment is possible.

I feel that you are the real friend of my bosom, and dearer to me than life; and that I am the same to you. No, not the slice of a single Gloster. But if I was to go on, it would argue that want of confidence which would be…

Source: A Love Letter to Lady Hamilton from Lord Nelson | STORJA101.

One thought on “A Love Letter to Lady Hamilton from Lord Nelson | STORJA101

What are your thoughts?

