Sublime and ridiculous in London names: Bleeding Heart Yard and Cripplegate | thestreetnames

It’s time for a reality check. I received another I-hope-it-was-a-gentle rebuke from reader MattF, who warned me against taking to heart some of the less likely explanations of why streets are called what they’re called. My aim is to entertain as well as inform, so I like to air as many views as I can find about street name derivations, but equally, MattF has a point so I’ll try to make it clear which theories are probably complete eyewash and which may be plausible.

On that note, I thought it might be fun to look again at some of the weirder street names I’ve come across, and some of the many theories behind those names.

Starting with where my pursuit of London street names began: Bleeding Heart Yard. Dickens helped make the yard…

Source: Sublime and ridiculous in London names: Bleeding Heart Yard and Cripplegate | thestreetnames

3 thoughts on “Sublime and ridiculous in London names: Bleeding Heart Yard and Cripplegate | thestreetnames

What are your thoughts?

