8 Classic Features To Help You Recognise an Old Woolworth’s Store

Oh, how I mourn the loss of Woolies. Pound shops and the like bear no comparison.

Researching Woolworth’s stores in Great Britain and Ireland allowed me to wallow in childhood nostalgia. I clearly remember the old counter-service Woolies – customers clamouring for the attention of the ‘girls’, or testing the gigantic red scales that always stood in the entrance.

In fact, as a very small person, I discovered the joys of pop music in my local Woolworth’s, jumping about with excitement to The Beatles’ She Loves You. Only years later did I realise that it must have been the ‘Embassy’ cover version, recorded especially for Woolworth’s by an invented group, ‘The Typhoons’.

Woolies was a treasure trove: the source of our Christmas fairy, sweets, books, much-loved toys, detested Ladybird ‘Liberty’ bodices and, eventually, my first…

Source: 8 Classic Features To Help You Recognise an Old Woolworth’s Store

2 thoughts on “8 Classic Features To Help You Recognise an Old Woolworth’s Store

  1. Fabulous! Woolworth shops were the small (and sometimes large) introduction to my childhood self, of the Art Deco style that became a passion in later life. I didn’t know what it was at the time, but I loved the designs, the mirrored columns, and ‘monumental’ architecture. Truly a shop of the people, and still recognisable in most cases, despite the awful tat that has mostly taken over the former shops.
    Best wishes, Pete.

    Liked by 1 person

What are your thoughts?

