Tales from the walled garden #3: when Alice met Charlie

A fascinating glimpse of English family history at the turn of the century from Tish Farrell.

Tish Farrell

Charles Alice 2 (2)Charles Alice 2 (3)

I think I can safely say that  my genetic make-up, in parts of its configuration, is down to a malfunctioning umbrella. At least this is what I gather from my Aunt Evelyn’s brief account of how her parents, my paternal grandparents got together.

But before we get into the umbrella business, please meet my grandmother, Alice Gertrude Eaton, a grocer’s cashier from Streatham, London (I have a notion that it was an early Sainsbury’s store because the emporium’s founders, John James and Mary Ann Sainsbury had the policy that ‘lady clerks made the stores run better’), and grandfather, Charles Ashford, head gardener, born in Twyford, Hampshire. You have seen them in their latter years in my earlier posts from the walled garden (see: #1, #2)

In  many respects they are an unlikely couple. Alice was a city girl through and through. She is perhaps unusual, too…

View original post 1,469 more words

4 thoughts on “Tales from the walled garden #3: when Alice met Charlie

What are your thoughts?

